Dr. HOO Chiew Ping

  • 2020-2021 Council Fellow Global Future Council on the Korean Peninsula World Economic Forum
  • 2018 IUE Emerging Leaders Fellowship by the Ministry of Unification, Republic of Korea
  • 2017 SEAYLP Associate Research Fellow, International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS-Asia)
  • 2011 Academy of Korean Studies Research Fellow
  • 2010 Korea Foundation Field Research Fellowship

Dr. Nur SHAHADAH Jamil

  • 2017 Taiwan Fellowship Program, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of China (Taiwan), National Chengchi University

Ms. Ithrana Lawrence

  • 2017 Asia Studies Fellowship, East-West Center in Washington


  • 2012 UKM Young Researcher’s Fellowship at the Institute of Developing Economies (IDE-JETRO); Tokyo, Japan

Dr. KUIK Cheng Chwee

  • 2016/2017 Newton Advanced Fellowship (British Academy)
  • 2013/2014 Princeton – Harvard “China and the World Program” (CWP), Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University; Postdoctoral Research Associate
  • 2012/2013 Department of Politics and International Relations, University of Oxford ; Visiting Research Fellow
  • 2012/2013 KPT-UKM Postdoctoral Fellowship Award
  • 2011 Centre for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS), Jakarta; Visiting Fellow
  • 2011 ASEAN Studies Center, American University, Washington, DC; Visiting Scholar
  • 2011 Southeast Asian Studies, School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS), Johns Hopkins University, Washington, DC; Visiting Scholar
  • 2009 William and Marie-Daniele Zartman Fellowship, Johns Hopkins SAIS
  • 2008/2009 Chiang ching-kuo Foundation (CCKF) Doctoral Fellowship, Taiwan
  • 2007 Lee Kong Chian Research Fellowship Award, Singapore
  • 2006/2007 & 2007/2008 SAIS Ph.D. Student Fellowship, Johns Hopkins University
  • 2005/2006 UKM Faculty Development (Study Leave) Award, Malaysia
  • 2003/2004 & 2004/2005 Fulbright Graduate Study Scholarship
  • 2003 Shanghai Institute of International Studies (SIIS); Visiting Fellow
  • 2002/2003 Institute of Asia Pacific Studies (IAPS), Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS), Beijing; Visiting Fellow
  • 2002/2003 ASIA Fellows Award (Asian Scholarship Foundation – Ford Foundation), Bangkok
  • 1997/1998 British High Commissioner’s Chevening Award

Mr. NGUI Yew Kit @ Clarence

  • 2012 Southeast Asian Studies Regional Exchange Program (SEASREP) Postgraduate Fellowship for Ph.D. Research
  • 2011 Chulalongkorn University’s Empowering Network for International Thai Studies (ENITS) Scholarship

Dr. KARTINI Aboo Talib @ Khalid

  • 2011 Sumitomo Foundation
  • 2010 Naumann Stifftung Foundation


Dr. Guido BENNY

  • 2016 EmeraldLiterati Network Best Paper Award in International Political Economy


  • 2013 Best Publication Award (Popular Writing) Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities, National University of Malayia (UKM)


Dr. KUIK Cheng Chwee

  • 2009 Michael Leifer Memorial Prize (Biennial) by the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS) for the best article published in any of the three ISEAS Journals – “The Essence of Hedging”